NYCFC Forums Press

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd also really jump at the chance to do something like. Like others, I don't have any extensive journalism background -- however I would love to give my all doing this alongside some of the really knowledgeable people on this forum, to learn a bit, and to really develop skills to bring information to this core group of fans. I love soccer journalism like The Blizzard that tries to ask substantive questions and provide thorough analysis instead of pumping out quotes for quotes sake. I'm a graduate student as well, so I'm extremely attentive to my writing, and try to probe deeply into issues from all sides as much as possible. I'm new to NYCFC as a STH, but I've followed MLS for a very long time (as well as soccer globally) and have become familiar with the league-specific intricacies that we've all come to love/hate. My involvement with soccer also extends to being a youth soccer coach with SBU on the fields right next to Yankee Stadium.

I would normally jump all over an opportunity such as this. But I travel a lot for work so mid-week items would be a rare chance for me. Additionally, I would be unable to do post-match events considering my usual inebriated status at our home matches.

We have an opportunity to get credentials for NYCFC press events. I think it would be great if we took advantage of this.
Neither of us admins have the means to participate. Whether it be location or obligations to other job or whatever else.
I'm asking if any members with a vast knowledge of MLS/Football are interested.
We'd be in regular communication and work together with coordinating for events. Can be multiple people.
I'd open a new press section where you can give us a rundown of events, quotes, pics, video etc after the fact.

But knowledge here is key. Someone who after a game can speak with Vieira regarding tactical changes and ask strategic questions. Not simply, 'we looked great. What did you do different?'