K19 Makes The U23 Usmnt

I'm kind of new to the fandom aspect of MLS. Do we want our stars to play for the National Team even though it means they miss matches? Wouldn't it be best to have players that are really good but don't break into the squad?

Facing better international competition helps development and exposure. Sure you lose them for a few games, but there is more to gain in the long run. If not for his time in the USMNT, I don't think a player like Mix would be in playing for NYCFC.

Klinnsman is weird... these friendlies were suppose to be for European and Mexican players. So of course he goes and says he wants to field his strongest team. So now you got some US players there along with some vets and newbies. I think Mix is still in his plans long term. He is becoming one of the best midfielders in MLS... just look at his passing stats.

Not a Klinsi hater, but I gave up trying to understand the guy. As long as we win the Gold Cup and other awards I don't care.

Happy for Khiry though... I called it a few days ago on the CONCACAF thread :D

Yes, not losing Mix!

That is huge on the one hand and insulting on the other, Mix is playing great.

Losing Shelton hurts but I'm still confident in Mullins. Might we see Tony Taylor return with Shelton gone?

Yeah, I appreciate Klinsmann's fire to get better and always attack, attack, attack but what he says and what he does are two different things.

He says we can't win a world cup for a long time yet but then demands our best players be in Europe and seems to be an outright enemy of MLS.

Well, if we can't win for a long time, why not encourage our best players to join MLS to strengthen the league because a strong MLS, a strong domestic league, is our best chance of winning a WC long-term.

Or not even encourage but at least don't discourage players from going to MLS. Especially right now when the league is really close to a tipping point of being something great.