Gold And Silver Stars For Mls Cup Winners


Seasoned Supporter
May 27, 2014
Can someone explain the logic behind the stars? I know gold means you're the current champion, but does silver mean past championships won not including the last, or total championships won? For example, when NYCFC gets their first championship, will the jersey the following season have only one gold star, or a gold star above a silver star?
You are entitled to wear the gold star if you are the reigning MLS Cup champions. You are entitled to wear a silver star if you have won it in the past, one for each triumph before the previous season. Hence, if you win it for the first time you do not get the silver star straight away, that only comes a full year after your MLS Cup victory.
  • Like
Reactions: Vito